Foolish talk, coarse joking… or, do I dare say, Sarcasm.


Ephesians 5:1-7: “Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave Himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. But among you there must not be even a hint of sexual immorality, or of any kind of impurity, or of greed, because these are improper for God’s holy people. Nor should there be any obscenity, foolish talk to coarse joking, which are out of place, but rather thanksgiving. For of this you can be sure: No immoral, impure or greedy person – such a man is an idolater – has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and of God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of such things God’s wrath comes on those who are disobedient. Therefore do not be partners with them.”

As I was reading this one thing that really stood out was the fact the Paul tells us that there shouldn’t even be a hint of sexual immorality, or any kind of impurity, or of greed. He precedes to tell us there shouldn’t be any obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking. Now, if there mustn’t even be so much as a hint of sexual immorality, impurity, or greed, that means we shouldn’t even be partaking in the “That’s what she said” jokes, or if you’re a married man, you should make any jokes in the presence of unmarried men. I don’t say this to be judgmental, but simply as heads up. Also, as far as the obscenity, foolish talk or coarse joking, we shouldn’t go and tick someone off and then to cover ourselves follow up with a “I was just joking” or any response that is somewhat related. If you have offended someone and you know you were out of place, own up to your actions and take the necessary steps to correct it.

Growing up, I was one of the most sarcastic people I knew. The worst part is I didn’t care. Looking back all that has done is build a reputation for myself that I am not very proud of. Very few (if any) of my friends take what I say seriously. Unfortunately, I have seen how that has damaged my witness as a follower of Jesus Christ. Because of that, I want to and must change! The problem is that I don’t know how to change.

So, for those of you who have been tagged in this note, my request is simple, help me. If you have any thing that you think would be useful for me post a comment or send me a message.

To all those who grew up with me, and witnessed my sarcasm, I admit to you that I was wrong and hope that you will forgive me if you haven’t already. If I offended you in anyway or if you have some advice, please share them with me so that I may take the appropriate action.

Leave a Reply

