Sex


Have you ever wondered why sex is a “forbidden” topic in a sense, but at the same time it’s a beautiful thing within the bounds of marriage, or why we are so surprised by the rate of teen pregnancies amongst Evangelical Christians? Well, whether you’ve thought about this or not, here is something for you to consider.

We, Christians, often wonder why there are so many pregnant teens in our evangelical youth groups today. I think I know the answer. We are bombarded with the message that sex before marriage is a good thing. It’s not something to be ashamed of. Instead, the shame is often said to be waiting until you get married to have intercourse. We, Christians, are very quick to tell teens that they should “wait till you’re married.” Which I agree with, but have we given them adequate reasons why they should? Yes, I understand that God tell us in His world that we should abstain from sexual immorality, but seriously, should we just assume that because a kid was “raised in the church” that he/she understands why God gave us that commandment? The church has been hush hush on the issue of sex, and thus, left the world to say whether it’s right or wrong to be sexually active before marriage. Today at work, I was listening to a song by Nickleback called, Animals. I was deeply saddened by this song and its message as I listen carefully to the words. I truly believe that sex is a beautiful thing within the bounds of marriage. With that in mind, let me ask you this, since sexual intercourse truly is a beautiful and wonderful blessing that comes with marrying someone, why do we seem to feel the need to shove the issue in the corner and wait until they are married, or about to be married to talk to them about it?

Here is a sample of the lyrics.

Animals by Nickleback

I, I’m driving black on black
Just got my license back
I got this feeling in my veins this train is coming off the track
I’ll ask polite if the devil needs a ride
Because the angel on my right ain’t hanging out with me tonight
I’m driving past your house while you were sneaking out
I got the car door opened up so you can jump in on the run
Your mom don’t know that you were missing
She’d be pissed if she could see the parts of you that I’ve been kissing
Screamin’

[CHORUS]
No, we’re never gonna quit
Ain’t nothing wrong with it
Just acting like we’re animals
No, no matter where we go
‘Cause everybody knows
We’re just a couple of animals

Leave a Reply

