The Attributes of God


Last week, I began reading A.W. Pink’s book, The Attributes of God, because I desire to know God more fully. I had concluded that a study on God’s attributes and nature would be an excellent starting point because of the intimate knowledge that would be gained about our Creator through such a study. So, I started with a sermon (which I don’t recall where I found it), and then picked up Pink’s book.

At this point, I have read the first seven chapters. My own ignorance regarding Almighty God, whom I serve, has astounded me. Granted God has been very gracious to me in the last year so as to begin revealing Himself to me. The most shocking thing I have read and realized is that many professing Christians have in fact crafted their own god. I must admit that I would have fallen into this line of thinking up until my introduction to reformed theology in 2009. A.W. Pink puts it this way; “The “god” who is now talked about in the average pulpit, spoken of in the ordinary Sunday School, mentioned in much of the religious literature of the day, and preach in most of the so-called Bible Conferences is the figment of human imagination, an invention of maudlin sentimentality. The heathens outside of pale of Christendom form “gods” out of wood and stone, while the millions of heathens inside Christendom manufactures a “god” out of their own carnal minds. In reality, they are but atheists, for there is no possible alternative between an absolutely supreme God, and no God at all.” Wow! How many professed follows of Christ have done just that, created a god from their depraved mind? Ever since my first year at Liberty University, I have begun to realize more and more how important one’s theology is. Without a proper view of God, it is impossible to have a proper view of our own nature, and thus we will never realize precisely what God the Son accomplished on the cross at Golgotha. I believe that it is our duty and responsibility as followers of God, to know Him intimately, and to understand, to the best of our ability, His attributes.

Check out Stephen Charnock’s work on the Attributes of God

Leave a Reply

